Hot Topics: Current Issues Affecting Members

Bay Area Jurisdictions Joint Press Release

Seven Bay Area jurisdictions (Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Santa Clara, with the City of Berkeley) issued a joint press release on March 24, announcing new reporting requirements for laboratories that test for COVID-19. Laboratories must report the results of tests for all residents of each jurisdiction to the ordering health care provider and the appropriate state and local health officials.

Current guidance only requires reporting of positive results, making it difficult for public health officials to record the number of people tested overall. The new order requires reporting of all positive, negative, and inconclusive results, along with information allowing health officials to locate the person tested. By providing more comprehensive information, health officials will gain a better understanding of the rates of infection and the location of possible infection clusters.

Review the full Contra Costa County press release and the Alameda County press release.